flurThe “Röntgenkuratorium Würzburg e.V.” was founded on December 3rd 1981, as a registered association to honor the memory of Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen. The nonprofit organization designed, maintains and manages the Röntgen memorial located at the site where Röntgen first discovered X-rays, the former Institute of Physics at the University of Würzburg on Röntgenring 8. It is now used by the University of Applied Sciences Würzburg-Schweinfurt.

Board of Directors
Professor Dr. Dietbert Hahn – Chairman
Präsident Prof. Dr. Alfred Forchel – Vice Chairman
Präsident Prof. Dr. Robert Grebner – Vice Chairman
Stephan Popp – Treasurer
Roland Weigand – Secretary
Dr. Jürgen Herzog – Assessor
Dr. Markus Holtz – Assessor
Prof. Dr. Herbert Köstler – Assessor
Wolfgang Paul – Assessor
Josef Wilhelm – Assessor

Please explore the Memorial and consider making a single or sustaining membership donation to help preserve this historically important site.


  • To become a sustaining member, please click here!

  • To make a single donation by PayPal, please click below: